July 21, 2024

KSU Steelers have emerged as champions of the 2022 Higher Institution Football League.

The Kogi-based University emerged champions by coming from behind to defeat the Dazzlers of Federal University Oye 3-1.

KSU won the championship thanks to goals from Samuel Odutola, Suleiman Muhammed, and Anuba Selah.

FUOYE Dazzlers ended up as first runners-up after scoring just one goal.

The Kogi Steelers have engraved their name in the history books, by becoming the first state-owned institution to win the HiFL.

In the losers final, UNN Lions upset Unilorin Warriors 1-0 to claim a second consecutive Bronze medal.


The first half of the game ended goalless, with the Warriors dominating.

The Ilorin Warriors were ultimately defeated by Edieru Lawrence, who capitalized on a misplaced pass from Samuel Oyewumi to score the game’s lone goal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *