May 19, 2024

Nigeria National League side EFCC FC have been crowned as the Abuja Unity Cup Champions after defeating Nasarawa United on Saturday, 29th October 2022.

The NNL side proved a difficult side to handle for the Nigerian Professional Football League Giant after seeing out a 1-1 draw in regulation time.

The game had to be settled via a penalty shootout, with the Magu boys defeating the Solid Miners 4-2 in the second edition of this tournament.

EFCC FC opened the scoring in the first half through Masoud Danjuma before Joshua John of Nasarawa United restored parity in the second half of regulation time.

The NNL side decided their fate by scoring four out of their five spot kicks at the Area 3 Football Field, Abuja, to be crowned Champions of the 2022/23 edition of the Unity Pre-Season Tournament.

Nasarawa United experienced their second consecutive final in the Unity Cup, the first being in 2021 at the same venue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *