July 21, 2024

Six players have been banned from playing in the Nigeria National League after assaulting match officials.

The NNL confirmed in a statement today that it has suspended six players of Warri based Football Club, J. Atete FC for assaults on match referees during their group B1 match day 19 fixtures against Ekiti United FC at the Out-Jeremi Stadium, Delta State.

“The players Onus John, Daniel Adu, Godstime Edowor, Zibiri Eromosel, Edafe Steven and Shemaye Atemajiro who physically attacked the match officials after the match are to stay away from all NNL organized matches forthwith, in keeping with provisions of the NNL rule book,” the statement from the nation’s second division league body read.

Meanwhile, the NNL also said that the J. Atete FC banished to P.A Oruta Ngele Stadium, Abakaliki, Ebonyi state. Their remaining games will be played behind closed doors.

Otu-Jeremi Stadium has also been banned indefinitely while J. Atete FC fined N1million as recompense for assault on the CR and N1million for breach of security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *